The Steering Committee is elected

The Research Council has elected a Steering Committee of international experts who are responsible for the scientific implementation of NRP 81 “Baukultur”. It has taken up its work by the beginning of September.

The Steering Committee of NRP 81 is composed of ten experts from Switzerland and abroad and is chaired by Professor Paola Viganò of EPFL. The members of the Steering Committee cover the various disciplines and areas of NRP 81.

Steering Committee Members

  • Prof Paola Viganò, Director of the Laboratory of Urbanism, School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC), EPFL, Switzerland, Professor at IUAV Venezia, Owner of Studio Paola Viganò, Milan and Brussels (President)
  • Prof Eugen Brühwiler, Head of the Laboratory of Maintenance, Construction and Safety of Civil Structures, School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC), EPFL
  • Prof Pierre Caye, Director of the Centre Jean Pépin, CNRS, ENS Ulm, Paris, FR
  • Prof Andri Gerber, Co-Head of the Institute for Constructive Design, School of Architecture, Design and Civil Engineering, ZHAW
  • Regula Lüscher, former Senate Director for Urban Planning and Architecture/State Secretary of the City of Berlin, DE
  • Prof Jonathan Metzger, Professor of Urban and Regional Studies, Department of Urban Planning and Environment, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, SE
  • Prof Elli Mosayebi, Chair for Architecture and Design, Department of Architecture, ETH Zurich, Partner at EMI Architekt*innen ETH SIA BSA AG, Zurich
  • Birgitta Schock, Dipl. Arch ETH SIA, Member of the Board SIA and "Bauen Digital Schweiz", chairwoman of "buildingSMART", co-owner of schockguyan GmbH
  • Prof Irmi Seidl, Head of Research Unit Economics and Social Sciences, Swiss Federal Research Institute WSL
  • Prof Arjan van Timmeren, Professor of Environmental Technology and Design, Faculty of Architecture and the Built Environment, TU Delft, NL

Dr Anne Pfeil, Federal Office of Culture (FOC), represents the Federal government in the Steering Committee. As Research Council Delegate, Professor Dr Eleni Chatzi is responsible for the coordination between the two bodies. Boris Buzek and Yvonne Rosteck handle the programme management.